Franchise Registration States & Filing Fees

There are (3) Primary Franchise State Registration types, of which could change at any time so please refer to each state’s current rules & regulations. The three primary types of Franchise State Registrations are as follows:

  1. Non-Registration States = Just Need Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD)
  2. Filing States = Just file and pay a fee, no additional approval
  3. Franchise Registration States = require filing, fee, and approval by state

Non-Registration States:

The following States do not require filing or registration to be able to sell Franchises in the State. They only require that the Franchisor follow the FTC Guidelines and have an approved FDD.

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
Colorado
Delaware
District of Columbia
Georgia
Idaho
Iowa
Kansas
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
Ohio
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania
Tennessee
Vermont
West Virginia
Wyoming

Filing States:

A Filing State is one that requires the Franchisor to file and pay a fee, but does not require the Franchisor to submit documents and seek approval to sell Franchises, like a registration State.

Connecticut is a Franchise Filing State and has a franchise filing fee of $400.

Florida is a Franchise Filing State and has a franchise filing fee of $100.

Kentucky is a Franchise Filing State and has a franchise filing fee of $0.

Maine is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $25.

Nebraska is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $100.

North Carolina is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $250.

South Carolina is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $100.

Texas is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $25.

Utah is a Franchise Filing State and has a filing fee of $100.

Franchise Registration States:

These States require registration and approval of Franchise Disclosure Document prior to selling in the state or from the state. These fees can and may change depending on the state regulators.

CALIFORNIA
Franchise Division Department of Corporations 1515 K Street, Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95814

Franchise Registration Fee California $ 675

HAWAII
Commissioner of Securities Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Business Registration Division Securities Compliance Branch 335 Merchant Street, Room 203, Honolulu, HA 96813

Franchise Registration Fee Hawaii $125

ILLINOIS
Franchise Division Office of Attorney General 500 South Second Street

Franchise Registration Fee Illinois $500

INDIANA
Franchise Division Office of Secretary of State 302 W. Washington St., Rm. E111 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Franchise Registration Fee Indiana $500

MARYLAND
Office of the Attorney General Division of Securities 200 St Paul Place Baltimore, Maryland21202-2020

Franchise Registration Fee Maryland $ 500

MICHIGAN
Consumer Protection Division Franchise Section PO Box 30213 Lansing MI 48909

Franchise Registration Fee Michigan $ 250

MINNESOTA
Minnesota Department of Commerce 85 7th Place East, Suite 500 St. Paul, MN 55101-2198

Franchise Registration Fee Minnesota $400

NORTH DAKOTA
Franchise Division Office of Securities Commission 600 East Boulevard – 5th Floor Bismarck, ND 58505

Franchise Registration Fee North Dakota $250

NEW YORK
Franchise & Securities Division State Department of Law 120 Broadway 23rd Floor New York NY 10271

Franchise Registration Fee New York $750

OREGON
Corporate Securities Section
Dept. of Insurance & Finance
Labor & Industries Bldg.
Salem, or 97310

RHODE ISLAND
Franchise Office Division of Securities John O. Pastore Office Complex 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, RI 02910

Registration Fee Rhode Island $ 500

SOUTH DAKOTA
Department of Revenue and Regulation Division of Securities 445 East Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501

Registration Fee South Dakota $ 250

VIRGINIA
State Corporation Commission Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 1300 E. Main St. 9th Floor Richmond, VA 23219

Registration Fee Virginia $ 500

WASHINGTON (STATE)
The Department of Financial Institutions Securities Division P.O. Box 9033 Olympia, WA 98507-9033

Registration Fee Washington $ 600

WISCONSIN
Department of Financial Institutions Division of Securities 345 West Washington Ave., 4th Floor Madison, WI 53703

Registration Fee Wisconsin $ 400

Complete Our Free Franchise Feasability Questionnaire

blog / latest news